It's Time...


It's Time...



In 1982 a group of women, committed to improving the position and representation of women in the film and television industries, established Women in Film and Television NSW. Since then, despite changing haircuts and hemlines, the status of women in the screen industries remains less than stellar and the need for a proactive and progressive WIFT has never been greater.

At the 2016 AGM a new Committee was elected, one that will return the organisation to its core values of strong governance, thought leadership and active modelling for the broader screen industry. A 2021 target has been set by the new Committee in which to progress the aims and objectives of the organisation (and thus women in the industry) to the point where WIFT can graciously and thankfully self-destruct! Effective advocacy demands swift and decisive action and we are committed to creating partnerships and common goals with all sectors and service providers in the screen industry.

Following the 2017 AGM on June 19th 2017, the outgoing 2016 committee are thrilled to welcome a committee dedicated to continuing 2016's achievements with a slate of fresh, exciting initiatives. The incoming committee brings a wealth of knowledge and experience in the screen industry. Here's to another great year for WIFT!


Executive Committee:
President - Megan Riakos
Vice President - Rosie Lourde
Vice President - Katrina Graham
Secretary - Lucy Fisher
Treasurer - Jess Khoury

Ordinary Committee Members:
Pearl Tan
Pauline Findlay
Catherine Turner
Lolina Grover
Genevieve Bernadette Craig
Angela Pezzano
Felicity Jean
Charis Orchard
Dulce Amor Aguilar

WIFT Patrons:

  • Alice Bell - Screenwriting 
  • Velinda Wardell - Cinematography
  • Michela Ledwidge - Digital Media
  • Tracey Mair - Publicity
  • Pearl Tan - Diversity
  • Alice Babidge - Production Design
  • Dany Cooper - Editing
  • Mimi Butler - TV Producing
  • Elaine Beckett - Sound Engineering 

Outgoing 2016 Committee: 

  • Sophie Mathisen, Writer/Director
  • Jessica Giacco, Producer
  • Bronte Rose Jovevski, Writer/Producer 
  • Megan Riakos, Writer/Director
  • Lolina Grover, Screenwriter 
  • Nicole Reddy, Writer/Director
  • Kristina Paraschos
  • Laura La Rosa, Writer
  • Stef Smith, Producer